FINALLY!!!

I saw The Force Awakens last Wednesday, but with all the hoopla about Christmas etc, I feel like I can now write about it. Also I needed time to process what I saw. Thus, finally, I put words to what I’ve experienced and seen.

Recently, I have struggled with balancing hope and reality and what has been. Lets just say, hoping isn’t necessarily my thing. Catastrophisizing, now that I’m excellent at. You have a semi-bad situation? Well, let me make the worse possible scenario out of it.  I’m pretty sure in some circles that’s considered a super power, and I need to find said circles so I could be their leader. When I saw the first trailer for The Force Awakens, my super powers took over at the small glimmer of hope. I forced myself to remember how much hope I had for The Phantom Menace and looked how well that turned out.

After the first trailer came another trailer. And then the first trickling of reviews, which weren’t bad. But still, episodes I through III were in the forefront of my mind so I didn’t get my hopes too high. I then read a friend of mine’s review, and since he’s a huge geek, I trusted his opinion. He said it was the movie he had been waiting for since The Empire Strikes Back. Huge, right? It was when I read this that I let the hope exist within my heart. It was similar to those times when you’ve been unsure about a new person in your life, and s/he does something to make you realize s/he isn’t going to suddenly sprout horns and a tail. Still though, I kept my expectations to a minimum as I entered the cinema.

Resisting the urge for any spoilers as most people don’t like them… Then the credits rolled. And I was NOT disappointed. I was relieved. It got to the point where I was a bit giddy. Also, suddenly, I became excited for the upcoming films. I’d love to go on about what I think will happen, but I’m trying not to be that dick. So, I’m going to end this now. And if you haven’t seen it yet but want to, do it!

Leave a comment